Poetry Published in Special Sestina Issue of Festival Writer

Standard

I was happy to find out recently that my submission of two sestinas to Festival Writer were accepted for publication in their Special Sestina Issue (No. 2:6).  Here is the link to my poems The Book of Poems, and On the BridgeFestival Writer Link

What Is A Sestina?

A sestina is a form of poetry that has six stanzas of six lines each, plus a final stanza of three lines (called a ‘tercet’).  You choose six words, and each individually will be used as the last word of each line in a particular order.  The patterned order changes with each stanza, and in the tercet the words are used in order as well, two per line.

Sort of Sudoku for poetry.

In the call for submissions they encouraged writers to step outside the box, so in The Book of Poems I had the first letter of each line in each stanza spell out ‘sestina’ – minus the ‘a’.  I started each line of the tercet with an ‘a’.

2014-07-30 11.01.31

Leave a comment