Silk Scarf Painting Is Fun!

Standard

My friend Linda invited me over last week to learn how to dye silk scarves.  Though I am terribly busy at the moment, the artist in me could NOT pass up learning how to make these beautiful scarves.

I ordered my supplies in advance from http://www.DharmaTrading.com online.  This order included blank silk scarves and a beginner’s kit of Setasilk colors.  I also ordered a resist to play with.

She first laid out a big garbage bag to cover the table.  She then filled a casserole dish with water, and we dunked our scarves one at a time, squeezing out the excess water.  We then shaped them on the plastic, fanning some and scrunching others (we made three apiece).  After they were shaped we chose colors to apply.

I colored my first one with red and orange, but used way too much color.  I used my second scarf to absorb the excess color and added some yellow.  I believe that one is my favorite!  On my third scarf I used turquoise, green and blue.

We put the damp scarves into the original bags, and once I got home I laid them out to dry on another garbage bag.  Be careful not to let them touch, or you can end up with a rogue color spot from another scarf.

While they were barely damp, I put them in the dryer one at a time to set the colors (approx. 5 minutes each).

Once the colors were set it was time to wash them in a gentle soap (I used Woolite), then iron while still damp.

They look and feel beautiful!  When I’m wearing a scarf and it blows in the breeze it makes me feel very feminine and glamourous. Ooh La La!

 

Here are some pictures of the final results.

Pink, Orange and Yellow

Pink, Orange and Yellow

20140815_210246

I love the marbling effect in this scarf.

This scarf was still too wet when I put it in the dryer, and I got red all inside the dryer.  It came out by putting in damp dark blue jeans, and didn't affect the jeans.

This scarf was still too wet when I put it in the dryer, and I got red all inside the dryer. It came out by putting in damp dark blue jeans, and didn’t affect the jeans.

One thought on “Silk Scarf Painting Is Fun!

Leave a Reply

